On weight

We I was little I wore a size 16. That’s pretty big for a 10 year old and younger. I didn’t play sports, in fact I didn’t do much but watch TV and read books. The were woods to go play in so I did that a lot but never enough to lose any weight. I got picked on like every other kid that was fat or unpopular. I ate what was on my plate as I was told. I lived my life. It was no better or worse than anybody elses including the popular kids which I wasn’t.

As the years went by I started working out and learning more and more about nutrition. I have been a runner, cyclist, aerobics nut, yoga freak, bodybuilder. You name it. I have been ultra skinny, but none of that matters…really if your not happy with who you are. Now that I’m 40 and it wasn’t big revaluation that I came to this conclusion. I am happy being happy. I’m 5′ 5″ and 150. I am neither fat or skinny. I’m middle. I eat healthy, but if there’s cookies watch out….boom there gone. I ate every one. I love cookies. It’s in my genetics and there’s no way to get around it unless you have some cookies.

That’s what’s life is about. Now that’s a revaluation. I know girls that don’t eat anything and I mean nothing except lettuce. I can’t stand to be around them. Their no fun. Im not a pro athlete, or a supermodel. Im a mom who loves to eat cookies with her kids.

Why would any normal person want to deprive themselves of life. I love to cook all kinds of crazy things as I don’t like eating plain food. Some I wrap in bacon. I use heavy cream, butter, olive oil, nuts. I make gravies, sauces, and dressings. I also serve lots and lots of veggies out of my garden. I never serve bread, mashed potatoes, or rice. I don’t care for them much. The best part is the drink. I love to drink while I cook. A glass of wine makes life even better.

I read an article years a go about a super model. She was ultra thin, stunning, gorgeous. Probably a size nothing. When she quit being a model she was a size 12 and happy. She expressed that being her happy weight was the most wonderful thing. Airbrushing and lettuce is not way to live life. This article has stuck with me for years.

I try to teach my daughter that happiness isn’t determined by your weight. It’s determined by your self worth. I encourage her to make good foot choices. A carmel frappacino and a donut isn’t one of them. A strawberry banana smoothies and a one of Starbucks mini treats is a better choice. Its not weather she fat or not. She like dancing and playing. It’s better for her body if it fueled properly. I explain to her the joys of a happy weight, a happy life. One that’s made with good choices.

Leave a Reply

