Customer service

Do you remember about five or six years ago maybe just a bit longer? You could walk into any store and nobody would acknowledge you. It was hard to find help, because all the clerks were busy doing their own thing. I remember walking into Lowes one day. I couldn’t find one person to help me, nope not one. I left. I was irritated that no one seemed to acknowledge that was there to spend my money for their services. A lack of customer service then, for me, was the norm.

I remember the day that changed. I was in Vons. The produce department is the first department you enter, and since I go early their is always a guy stocking the shelves.

“Good Morning, is there anything I can help you find.” he says with a smile.
“No, I’m good thank you.” I return.

I was put off at this at first. I didn’t know what to think. I was in customer service shock. Now I have come to expect it. Demand it actually.

Recently, I was in Target. My daughter and I were wondering around looking for an item and as we stood in the middle if the isle looking lost and confused not one but five employees walked by us with no acknowledgement. No good morning, no hello’s, no can we help you find something. Nothing. We left and bought our item at another store, simple.

Customer service gurus.

From a consumers perspective, and a moms I believe Apple and Starbucks are the most successful because of customer service. I say this a lot.

Have a greeter at the door that can welcome you and direct you to your needed item.
Have staff on the floor to answer questions.
Keep your store well lit, and stocked.
Smile, be friendly.

This just seems like common sense, yes. It should be. Some statistics show that we pay more for better customer service. I believe having more staff on the floor is worth it.

One of my clients recently bought a used Apple Mac book and a new IPad. The Mac book had some code problems so he took it down to the Apple store. They fixed it for no charge. He describe how friendly and knowledgeable they were. How they spent time and attention on his issues. He was impressed and excited. This is the type of experience that will make or break a company. Because of his experience he will no doubt tell everyone he knows.

Customer service is indeed the leading key to success.

Leave a Reply

