Words with friends

Every now and again I get a Words with Friends bug. I just can’t seem to stop myself from wasting my time making simple words. I’m never really into the score, but who doesn’t like winning.

Now, I have been known on occasion to use a descrambler. There are times when I get stuck, or just don’t see the words before me. I usually prefer to go with a simple two letter word, and just man up to the embarrassment. It’s easier.

It doesn’t take an educated person to know that some words just are not used in the English language. At the very least there not common to most people’s vocabulary.

Paca – a large burrowing rodent in South America
Boskage – a mass of trees, or shrubs, wood,grove, or thicket Boscage
Bummalo – a small Asian fish
Crumbum – a despicable man
Epimysia. – muscle sheaths

I haven’t the foggiest idea about these words. Never heard them. Of course, it’s not to say that a person educated in Asian fishery wouldn’t know or use the word Bummalo, but words like this are not common. I think it highly unlikely, also, that people even bother to look up the strange words they are spelling.

Vowels make up everything. I learned this in first grade. Phonics are the key. If you can sound it out you can spell it out. Although it may not be a word, it’s defiantly worth the effort: ie, ea, aa, r, s, t, g, between vowels, ed at the end. It all about the sound. Simple vowel sounds is how we communicate. They are how we translate thoughts into words.

Scrabble is mind challenging, strategy orientated. It makes me think. Warms up the brain and for me is much funner than suduko. So the next time you play Words with Friends try using your mind unsteady of the descrambler. You never know what crazy word you will come up with. Not to mention blocking them from using triple.

Picul – a unit of weight used in some parts of Asia
Trinal – having three parts; threefold
Nutria – the light brown fur of the coypu. I’ll let you look that up.

One Comment to “Words with friends”

  1. I love word games and am always playing Scrabble with friends, be it online or offline. I have a way with anagrams (words formed out of rearranging their letters), so it makes scoring and coming up with different words a lot less challenging for me. The anagram thing also helps me when I play a game like Boggle (having to find random words on a grid within a limited time period). Those games can get addictive!

Leave a Reply

