Memorial Day

I never really think to much about this. As it turns out it’s just another day off, although today I chose to come into work. It’s the first time I have worked this particular holiday in eight years.

As always I sat on my front porch drinking coffee with my husband, reading emails, playing words with friends, checking groupon. The usual stuff. Not thinking anything about the day. It just a day. Then…….my iPad started beeping with all the site subscriptions I have. Everyone was writing about Memorial day in one way or another.

The lives that have been lost; the lives that have been forgotten. The injured. The found. Every life has a value to someone. Every person has been loved. Everyone gone remembered in some way by someone.

I work with Marines. I have lost friends, and acquaintances to war. I remember them often. The smile on their faces. The sound of their voice. The kindness in their hearts. The things they loved to do with their free time: skydiving, sailing, rock climbing, biking, etc. They are all amazing men.

At work guys don’t speak of the war much. I never really ask. Their home. There with family and the war is in the past, although I hear my share of stories.  Most are amazing and totally different than what you hear in mass media. It makes you wonder, so I no longer watch stories about the war.  The Marines are proud and I am proud of them.

I have meet boys who are now men that have lost their sight, their arms, their legs, the normal mental state. I used to feel sorry for them. I don’t anymore. They are proud of their misfortune. Proud of the job they have done. Willing to do it again without regret.

I don’t think about all I am grateful for everyday. I should. We have many freedoms that others don’t.  I should be more grateful. It’s a shame we need a day to celebrate the one who sacrificed. Those who have lost their lives for our benefit. Those who have sacrificed their lives for the ones they love. The country they love. It’s a shame that as a people we forget. We get so involved with the day to day we simply don’t have the time to remember. At the very least we have today.

In loving memory of my friend.

3 Comments to “Memorial Day”

  1. I am glad you realized all of this! It is important to remember them often, it is because of them that we are able to forget… if that makes sense.

  2. And forget we do. We go about our daily lives, living. The gratitude is in the living, so is the remembering. It makes more sense than you know. Our friends and family have sacrificed so we can live, and live we must so we can remember.

    The statement you made is just the brilliancy I was looking for. “It is because of them we are able to forget.”

    • I’m not sure if I can get any better than brilliant tonight, I better go to bed while I am ahead! 🙂 All kidding aside, I completely agree. We really have sooooo much to appreciate! I loved in your post how you spoke of soldiers and their happiness to serve… you’re right the media doesn’t capture that, we don’t get to see them in that light. Yet anyone that has served or knows a soldier…. they know.

Leave a Reply

