Me and My Guitar

I’ve said it before. I’m stuck in a rut. I know the basics but just don’t know how to move forward.

When I started playing a year ago I struggled with playing left or right handed. I finally decided left which limits me. I bought a Fender 100 because that was the only left handed guitar they had in stock which was fine because like all things I didn’t know if I would stick with it. Kind of like writing. I love doing it but time always seems to be a factor. There just isn’t enough time to do everything and my daily chores. As I played and practiced I played more, and then more. The laundry didn’t mind waiting and I was grateful for the extra time to play.

Seven months into playing I got sick which put a real damper on the whole thing. Had I hit the spot where commitment was lost? Was I just over it and wasted a couple hundred dollars on guitar I wouldn’t play again? Did I want to play? I just didn’t know where to start or where to go. The rut had found me. Little by little I picked it up every day and strummed a chord or two but the interest wasn’t really there. I know all the basic chords and have put together a couple melodies. But still I felt lost.

Writing is a different story. You almost always have pen and paper. The waste factor is unusually low if you set it down for months, even years it’s no big deal. At least not for me. I almost certainly did not want to see my guitar end up that way, so I broke down and bought a program.

guitarjamz.com. Marty Swartz is my saving grace. I joined his guitar coaching club which in just two days has taught me a great many things, including some music theory. I’m very self motivated when it comes to something I want to do. I love to research my interests so I had been watching his free videos on You Tube since I started. Of course there’re a great many teachers and programs out there. I like Marty the best. He is easy to understand not to mention I like his hats. The hats are important because who wants to look at some aesthetically unpleasing sap.

Now I look forward to playing everyday even if life only affords me fifteen minutes. Now if I could just get motivated to take some writing classes my life would be complete.

Leave a Reply

