Accountibility

Accountability, do you have any

Accountability isn’t just a place to put blame. It’s the defining factor of who we are. Are we accountable for our actions.

In life it is very easy to blame anything and everything else than take responsibility for your own actions.

My son brought a puppy home that he found, she’s adorable. As any kid would he begged to keep her. “Fine, but I don’t have the time to exercise her, train her, or take care of her.” my son agreed to doing all these duties, as of course any kid would. He did great for a couple of weeks. The last couple of weeks have been very hot so I get that both the dogs and the kids energy of running over the top.

I wasn’t in the door from work more than a minute when my son comes bobbing out and says, “Now you need to get me 2 play station remotes the dog chewed up the other one.” This morning it was a backpack and hat. Yesterday it was Ugg boots. The day be for I found all the couch pillows in the back yard. Before that it was my extension cord for the sander, my toms, my plants, my apple connectors. “Really, I don’t need to replace anything. You need to play with the dog.”. Everything is the dogs fault. Of course he put his remotes away the dog just got them. Of course it’s not his fault. It’s the dogs. Where is the responsibility for your possessions. Where is the accountability for not putting his stuff out of the puppies reach.

The math teacher can’t grade the homework because there is to many papers to grade. “It’s the student responsibility to grade and check their work.” “Its the student responsibility to be prepared for the test, and to seek outside help if they do not understand the subject matter.” Where is the accountability for the job you are getting paid for.

We blame fast food for being fat.
We blame music for our children being violent.
We blame school and government for our state of well being.
We blame other people for our level of self esteem.
We blame.

Accountability – the state of being accountable, liable or answerable.

Everywhere around you people are blaming other people. We use reason, and justification to place blame where we need it. We avoid the facts. We avoid effort to make change. It’s all so easy.

I screw up shit all the time. Happy to take the blame. Happy to fix it. Happy to be held accountable. It’s the only way I can teach my kids to be accountable. It’s the only way I can expect a degree of accountability from other people.

Leave a Reply

